The winners of the Scottish Curry Awards 2014 are…

The winners of the Scottish Curry Awards 2014 are...

The winners of the 7th annual Scottish Curry Awards 2014 were announced on Monday 28th of April at a swanky affair at the Thistle Hotel in Glasgow.

Over 9000 nomination came in from all over Scotland and the race to be crowned at this year’s awards ceremony was an extremely tight contest.

“To be amongst such passionate people who love what they do is truly inspiring. The Scottish Curry Awards aims to recognise that dedication.” commented Yasmin Mahmood, Operations Director of event organisers Oceanic Consulting.

“It was a fantastic evening and I would like to thank everyone for attending and a big thank you to our sponsors. Congratulations to all our winner and finalists, and I hope to see you next year!”

With over 500 attendees, the glam event was hosted by award winning Scottish radio personality Gina McKie. As well as the award ceremony, guests were treated to a special performance by writer, actor and comedian Omar Raza and dance group Bollyfeat.

As well as recognising the curry industry in all its facets, the event also raised £5000 for the official charity partners The Well Foundation.

And the winners are:

Curry Lover of the Year
Winner: Michelle Logan (Umami Fifth Taste ltd)

Finalists: Dave Gannon (Curry Dave) // Curry Focus // Caledonian Curry Company // Michelle Logan (Umami Fifth Taste ltd).

Team of the Year presented by AiA Real Estate
Winner: Gulab Tandoori (Irvine)

Finalists: Killermont Polo Club (Glasgow) // Akbars (Glasgow) // Spice Indian Cuisine (Hamilton) // Kismot (Edinburgh) // Taj Mahal (Biggar) // Shezan Restaurant (Edinburgh) // Indian Villa (Motherwell) // Gulab Tandoori (Irvine) // Bombay Lounge (Dalkeith) // Turban Tandoori (Giffnock).

Healthy Curry Provider presented by Saffron Events UK
Winner: Chilli Papas (Fife)

Finalists: Chilli Papas (Fife) // Uzairs Tandoori (Motherwell) // Rice ‘n’ Spicy (Glasgow) // Indian Cottage (Glasgow) // Punjabi Tadka (East Kilbride) // Balbirs (Glasgow).

Best Marketing Campaign sponsored by Oceanic Media Consulting
Winner: Mushtaq’s Restaurant (Hamilton)

Finalists: Mushtaq’s Restaurant (Hamilton) // Kismot (Edinburgh) // Rasoi Indian Resturaunt and Deli (Glasgow) // Taj Mahal (Biggar) // Rishi’s Indian Aroma (Glasgow) // Tuk Tuk Indian Street Food (Edinburgh) // Spice (East Kilbride).

Best Restaurant Design sponsored by Khokhar McAdam
Winner: The Indian Cavalry Club (Edinburgh)

Finalists: Akbars (Glasgow) // Spice Indian Cuisine (Hamilton) // Village Curry House (Glasgow) // Kama Sutra (Glasgow) // Echt Tandoori (Aberdeen) // Ivy India (Glasgow) // Bukhara (Glasgow) // 10 to 10 in Delhi (Edinburgh) // Mumbai Mansion (Edinburgh) // The Indian Cavalry Club (Edinburgh).

Maitre D’ of the Year
Winner: Abed Ullah (Taj Mahal,Biggar)

Finalists: Abed Ullah (Taj Mahal,Biggar) // Muhammed Sultan (Charcoals, Glasgow) // Michael Singh (Bombay Lounge, Dalkeith) // Mohammed Imran (Akbars, Glasgow) // Fattah Haddad (Koolba, Glasgow) // Nicky Sumal (Balbir’s, Glasgow).

Chef of the Year sponsored by Goldstar Chefs
Winner: Matin Khan (Itihaas, Dalkieth)

Finalists: Dalvinder Singh (Ashoka, Edinburgh) // Ajmal Mushtaq (Mushtaq Restaurant, Hamilton) // Purvaiz Mohammed (Heera, Glasgow) // Chiranjid Sahoo (Shri Bheemas, Aberdeen) // Matin Khan (Itihaas, Dalkieth) // Tony Singh (Edinburgh).

Lifetime Achievement Awards sponsored by Oceanic Group
Winner: Dr Wali Uddin MBE

Takeaway of the Year presented by The Awaz Newspaper
(four regional winners and one overall winner)

Overall Winner: Bangla Kitchen (Edinburgh)

North East Winner: Qismat (Aberdeen)

North East Finalists: Qismat (Aberdeen) // Cafe Bombay (Aberdeen) // Curry Club Take Away (Forfar) // Delhi Darbar (Dundee) // Aladdin’s (Perth).

North West Winner: Kebabish Curry House (Oban)

North West Finalists: Kebabish Curry House (Oban) // Akash Tandoori (Elgin) // AKz Curry House & Fast Food (Inverness) // Red Chillies (Inverness) // Spicy Spot (Inverness).

South East Winner: Bangla Kitchen (Edinburgh)

South East Finalists: Bangla Kitchen (Edinburgh) // Bombay Feast (Edinburgh) // Eastern Spices (Edinburgh) // Curry Cafe (Edinburgh) // Kebab Mahal (Edinburgh).

South West Winner: Uzairs Tandoori (Motherwell)

South West Finalists: Majestic India (Cumbernauld) // Halal Kebab House (Glasgow) // Uzairs Tandoori (Motherwell) // Cafe India (Glasgow) // Shahed’s (Glasgow).

Curry King or Queen 2014 sponsored by Oceanic Consulting
Winner: Cook Gill

Best of Glasgow presented by The Well Foundation
Winner: Akbar’s

Finalists: Mr Singhs // Akbars // Charcoals // Kama Sutra // Rasoi Indian Resturaunt and Deli // Masala Twist // Shish Mahal // Assams // Cafe India (Merchant City) // India Quay.

Best of Edinburgh presented by Insure Smart
Winner: Shezan Restaurant

Finalists: Ashoka Edinburgh // Mithas // Khukuri // Itihaas // Khushis // Kebabish Original // Kasturi Resturaunt // Jashans // Vinyaasa // Shezan Restaurant.

Restaurant of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland
(four regional winners and one overall winner – Best of Glasgow and Best of Edinburgh winners are also included)

North East Winner: Echt Tandoori (Aberdeen)

North East Finalists: Tabla (Perth) // Echt Tandoori (Aberdeen) // Light of Bengal (Aberdeen) // Jahangir (Dundee) // Cinammon (Aberdeen).

North West Winner: Coriander (Oban)

North West Finalists: Spice Tandoori (Fort William) // Jaipur (Inverness) // Coriander (Oban) // Light of India (Oban) // Taj Mahal (Oban).

South East Winner: Bombay Brasserie (Dunfermline)

South East Finalists: India Palm (Dumfries) // Jewel in the Crown (Dumfries) // Amritsar (Kirkcaldy) // Indian Harvest (Falkirk) // Bombay Brasserie (Dunfermline).

South West Winner: Akash Resturaunt (Helensburgh)

South West Finalists: Anise Indian Kitchen (Prestwick) // The Rupee Room (Ayr) // Spice Garden (Stirling) // Akash Resturaunt (Helensburgh) // Gulab Tandoori (Irvine).

Overall Winner: Akbar’s

Region: All
Venue: Thistle Hotel
Venue Address: Cambridge Street
Press Tickets: Not Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
Press Tickets:
Phone: 0844 8793 256