The Winners for The Scottish Curry Awards are..

The Winners for The Scottish Curry Awards are..

-Winners of the 6th annual Scottish Curry Awards are announced-

The winners of the 6th annual Scottish Curry Awards 2013 were announced last night, on the 10th of June 2013 at a swanky bash at the Thistle Hotel in Glasgow.

Over 8000 nomination came in from all over Scotland and the race to be crowned at this year’s awards ceremony was an extremely tight contest.

“To be amongst such passionate people who love what they do is truly inspiring. The Scottish Curry Awards aims to recognise that dedication.” commented Yasmin Mahmood, Operations Director of event organisers Oceanic Consulting.

“It was a fantastic evening and I would like to thank everyone for attending and a big thank you to our sponsors. Congratulations to all our winner and finalists, and I hope to see you next year!”

There were fourteen categories presented on the night and the winners are…

Curry Lover of the Year presented by Gina McKie winner is: Sandy Wilkie (Muller Wiseman Dairies)

Team of the Year presented by Grafx Media winner is: Killermont Polo Club (Glasgow)

Healthy Food Provider presented by Saffron Events UK winner is: Punjabi Tadka (East Kilbride)

Best Marketing Campaign presented by Oceanic Media Consulting winner is: Kismot (Edinburgh)

Best Restaurant Design presented by Gina McKie winner is: Akbar’s (Glasgow)

Recognition for Creative Menu sponsored by The Scottish Curry Awards and Spectrum PR: Akbar’s (Glasgow)

Maitre D’ of the Year presented by Lloyds TSB Cardnet winner is: Muhammad Sultan (Charcoals, Glasgow)

Chef of the Year sponsored by Goldstar Chefs winner is: Purvaiz Mohammed (Heera Restaurant, Glasgow)

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by Oceanic Consulting winner is: Satty & Bobby Singh

Curry King or Queen 2012 sponsored by Oceanic Group winner is: Jiggy Majhu

The Best of Glasgow sponsored by Trampy and the Tramp’s Glasgow of Curry winner is: Mother India’s Cafe

The Best of Edinburgh sponsored by The Well Foundation winner is: Mithas

Takeaway of the Year sponsored by Awaz Newspaper
North East winner is: Qismat – Aberdeen
North West winner is: Kebabish Curry House – Oban
South East winner is: Eastern Spices – Edinburgh
South West winner is: Cafe India – Westend, Glasgow
Overall winner: Qismat – Aberdeen

Restaurant of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland

North East winner is: Cinnamon Restaurant – Aberdeen
North West winner is: Spice Tandoori – Fort William
South East winner is: Prince of India – Peebles
South West winner is : Rasoi Indian Restaurant & Deli – Lenzie
Overall winner: Mithas

Over 500 guests attended the glamorous event, including the lovely host and award winning radio presenter Gina McKie.

As well as recognising the curry industry in all its facets, the event also raised money for the official charity partners The Well Foundation.

Other sponsors of the event include: Bank of Scotland, Goldstar Chefs, Highland Spring, Oceanic Consulting, Grafx Media, Saffron Events UK , Oceanic Media Consulting, The Scottish Asian Business Awards, De:Strukt, Oceanic Hair and Beauty, and our official media partners Awaz Newspaper and our TV Partner ARY Network.

Entertainment of the night was provided by the fabulous Blok Professional Dance Troupe.

Region: All
Start Date: 10/06/2013
End Date: 11/06/2013
Start Time: 18:30
Venue: Thistle Hotel
Venue Address: Cambridge Street
Press Tickets: Not Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
Press Tickets:
Phone: 0844 8793 256