ignite – Royal Albert Hall’s free lively lunchtime music series

ignite - Royal Albert Hall

The Royal Albert Hall proudly presents the first ignite season of 2007. For 2007, ignite will expand to include Sundays in addition to the regular Friday lunchtime series. It will take place on most Fridays and Sundays from 12 noon from January to March and features talented young ensembles in the relaxed atmosphere of the Hall’s Café Consort.

This season features some fantastic new groups including Caratinga performing lively Brazilian samba, the Nigel Price Organ Trio with uplifting jazz and She’koyokh playing energetic Balkan folk music. We also welcome back some ignite regulars including talented solo guitarist Byron Johnston, energetic Latin American band Matices Latinos and popular American Bluegrass and ragtime group, The Huckleberries.

The full listings for this season are:

Dom James and his Dixie Ticklers: Sunday 7 January – A Dixieland explosion
Ensamble Criollo: Friday 12 January – Latin American rhythms
Nigel Price/Matt Wates Trio: Sunday 14 January – Swing, bossa-nova and mellow jazz
Branco Stoysin Trio: Friday 19 January – Traditional folk music of the Yugoslavs
Gustavo Marques Quintet: Sunday 21 January – Bossa-nova, Brazilian funk, samba
Paul Booth Quintet: Sunday 28 January – Jazz featuring sax, bass, drums, guitar & piano
Plastic Chairs: Friday 2 February – Lively traditional Greek folk group
Esther Hendricks Trio: Sunday 4 February – Smooth vocals and sophisticated jazz
Relative Jazz – Friday 9 February – Jazz with sax and piano
Dan Redding Band: Sunday 11 February – Traditional and original jazz
Alex Hutton Trio: Sunday 18 February – Uplifting melodic jazz
Kosmos: Friday 23 February – Jewish, gypsy Balkan inspired violin and cello ensemble
Nigel Price Organ Trio: Sunday 25 February – Hard swinging jazz to lift the spirits
The Huckleberries: Friday 2 March – Toe-tapping ragtime, bluegrass and traditional Irish
Matices Latinos: Sunday 4 March – Energetic folk and Latin American four-piece band
Byron Johnston: Friday 9 March – Solo flamenco, Mediterranean influenced guitar
The Hazel Hannam Quartet: Sunday 11 March – Distinctive vocal jazz
Caratinga: Friday 16 March – Irresistible Brazilian samba rhythms and beautiful melodies
Allison Neale Quartet: Sunday 18 March – Melodic West Coast jazz
She’koyokh: Friday 30 March – Fresh and infectiously energetic Balkan folk music

Region: All
Press Tickets: Not Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
 
Press Tickets:
Name: Jodie Jenkins