The Inimitable Seckou Keita SKQ Returns With Eagerly Anticipating Album and Exciting UK Tour!!!

The Inimitable Seckou Keita SKQ Returns With Eagerly Anticipating Album and Exciting UK Tour!!!

Releasing their exciting new album The Silimbo Passage on 2nd June, Seckou Keita SKQ are bringing their beautiful and unique sound to hte masses once again with a full UK tour this May and June!

With a massively successful touring history and critically acclaimed album under their belt, the Seckou Keita SKQ are proud to announce the release of their new studio album ‘The Silimbo Passage’, alongside an eagerly anticipated extensive UK tour, kicking off in May. The tour showcases part of the ongoing evolution of their unique sound that derives from the group’s heart – Seckou Keita himself.

The Seckou Keita SKQ are one of the fastest growing, independent bands du jour, captivating audiences from Montreal to Manchester, Sweden to Senegal. Their forthcoming album is already garnering international attention as the band has received an ‘Honourable Mention’ in the Instrumental category after being nominated as one of 15 finalists worldwide at the International Songwriting Competition. The Seckou Keita SKQ possess a unique ability to touch every one who experiences their sound, making it easy to see how they are amassing fans worldwide with their captivating, contemporary music.

Hailing from Senegal, Italy, Egypt and The Gambia, this multi-national band are an exciting fusion of culture and experience. Counting Richard Bona, Bela Fleck and Bobby McFerrin amongst his influences, Seckou Keita leads the quartet with his experimental tunings and virtuoso kora playing (a West African stringed instrument likened to the harp or the lute). His charismatic personality is portrayed through his unique improvisational playing, supported by the double bass/electric bass of Davide Mantovani, the eclectic percussions of Surahata Susso, the distinguished sound of the violin by Samy Bishai and enchanting voice of the gracious Binta Susso – the newest addition to the band, turning the quartet into a quintet!

Distinguishing Seckou Keita from other world musicians, is his very own inimitable tunings, making him one of the most innovative and creative known kora players in the world today. These new tunings are showcased on SKQ’s latest album ‘The Silimbo Passage’, which creates a fresh sound and shifts SKQ into a music category all of their own.

Championing ‘eco-friendliness’ through CO2 Balance UK, SKQ are minimising their carbon emissions and offsetting their unavoidable CO2 residue by produced all their material on recycled paper or paper from sustained forests. By offsetting emissions the band have been able to donate money towards East Africa Energy Efficiency and contribute to tree planting in the UK.

With continuing funding from Arts Council England, the band have added a number of key dates to their tour, including a eagerly anticipated support slot to the Grammy-award winning Miriam Makeba, favourably known as ‘Mama Africa’ at the Brighton Festival which celebrates her 75th birthday! Other exciting dates include the Guardian Hay Festival, and London’s revered Jazz Cafe, as well as planned gigs in Italy and Japan later this year.

www.seckoukeita.com

For more information please contact Sara Boughton or Jem Bahaijoub
Zest PR
Tel.0044 (0)20 7734 0206
sara@zestpr.com/ Jem@zestpr.com

Live Dates:
19 May 2008 – Album and Tour Launch at Momo, London
21 May 2008 – Brighton Festival, Support of Miriam Makeba (www.brightonfestival.org)
22 May 2008 – Brighton Festival, Lunch Concert (www.brightonfestival.org)
23 May 2008 – Acorn Theatre, Penzance (www.acornartscentre.co.uk)
27 May 2008 – Guardian Hay Festival (www.hayfestival.com)
28 May 2008 – Queens Hall, Edinburgh (www.thequeenshall.net)
29 May 2008 – Tolbooth, Stirling (www.stirling.gov.uk/tolbooth)
3 Jun 2008 – Invention Arts Centre, Bath (www.invention.tv)
4 Jun 2008 – B-Bar, Barbican Centre, Plymouth (www.b-bar.co.uk)
5 Jun 2008 – The Brewhouse, Taunton (www.thebrewhouse.net)
6 Jun 2008 – Derby Assembly Rooms, Derbyshire (www.assemblyrooms-derby.co.uk)
11 Jun 2008 – Jazz Cafe, London (www.meanfiddler.com/displayPage_jazz.asp?PageID=387)
12 Jun 2008 – Huntingdon Hall, Worcester (www.huntingdonhall.com)
13 Jun 2008 – Royal Pavilion, Llangollen, Wales (www.royal-pavilion.co.uk)
14 Jun 2008 – Lift Global Club, Glossop (www.liftglobal.com)
19 Jun 2008 Norwich Arts Centre, East Anglia (www.norwichartscentre.co.uk)
20 Jun 2008 – Asthall Manor, Big Village Production, Oxfordshire (www.bigvillage.org)
21 June 2008 – Peel Centenary Centre, Isle Of Man (www.centenarycentre.com/whatson)

Region: All
Website: http://www.seckoukeita.com
Press Tickets: Not Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
 
Press Tickets:
Name: Sara Boughton
Phone: 020 7734 0206