Winners announced at the 8th Annual Scottish Asian Business Awards presented by Bank of Scotland

Winners announced at the 8th Annual Scottish Asian Business Awards presented by Bank of Scotland

On Wednesday 11 December, the 8th annual Scottish Asian Business Awards presented by Bank of Scotland were held at the Thistle Hotel in Glasgow. The event recognised the business achievements of Scottish Asian men and women.

Yasmin Mahmood, Operations Director for the event organisers, Oceanic Consulting, said “each year this event has gone from strength to strength. This year we have seen many new faces in business as well as young entrepreneurs pushing through to battle it out. We have some truly worthy winners and finalists and they should all be incredibly proud of themselves.”

The Awards were presented by Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh of Hamilton Burns WS and Ajmal Mushtaq of Mushtaqs Restaurant, including a special appearance from Miss India Scotland Rameet Kaur Sandhu who interviewed all the winners.

Ian Collins, Area Director, SME Banking, South Scotland for Bank of Scotland, said: “Bank of Scotland is delighted to continue being associated with the SABAs. Last night saw some truly inspiring winners, and we want to congratulate all of those nominated.

We look forward to working with business communities across Scotland in 2014.”

As well as recognising the achievements of Asian men and women at the forefront of their industries the event raised £4000 for The Well Foundation. Funds raised at the Awards will go to Malawi, where The Well Foundation hope to build and improve classrooms aiming to eradicate instances of children being taught under tree’s or in crumbling, unsafe buildings.

The winners are:

Young Achiever of the Year sponsored by The Prince’s Trust Youth Business Scotland.
Winner: Natasha Ahmed (Fabulosity Boutique)

Finalists: Atif Afzal (Personal Trainer) // Natasha Ahmed (Fabulosity Boutique) // Madiha Iqbal (Glam Salon) // Wasim Arshad (Funky Booth)// Abid Nawaz (ABY Autos).

Rising Star Award sponsored by Minuteman Press High Street
Winner: Aasia Ali (Lambert Smith Hampton)

Finalists: Faroque Hussain (Police Scotland) // Muhammed Sultan (Charcoals) // Aasia Ali (Lambert Smith Hampton) // Urfan Dar (Beltrami & Co.) // Aqeel Ajazi (Shell).

Franchisee of the Year sponsored by The British Muslim Awards
Winner: Mohammed Zulfikar Haidar & Mohammed Iftikhar Haidar (Papa Johns)

Finalists: Asif, Atif & Javed Akhtar (Cartridge World) // Mohammed Zulfikar Haidar & Mohammed Iftikhar Haidar (Papa Johns) // Humza Din (iCafe).

The Community Award presented by The Well Foundation
Winner: Dr. Nadeem Siddiqui

Finalists: Gurdwara Guru Granth Sahib (Glasgow Gurdwara)// Scottish Police Muslim Association (SPMA) // Dr. Nadeem Siddiqui.

Family Run Business presented by Awaz Newspaper
Winner: Bonanza Scotland

Finalists: Khan Auto’s // Ataa Jewellers // Insure Smart // Bonanza Scotland //Family Favourites.

New Business of the Year
Winner: Super Soccer

Finalists: Super Soccer // Platinum Polish // Exhale Lounge // Vu Eyecare.

Small Business of the Year presented by IOD Scotland
Winner: Blue Canyon

Finalists: Little Things // Blue Canyon // Big Licks // Kohli Travels // Titan IT.

Retail Business of the Year sponsored by Muller Wiseman Dairies
Winner: Krush

Finalists: Krush // ImagineX Furniture & Interiors // Bismillah City Spice Shop //Delicious Bakers // Furniture Warehouse.

Best Professional in Business sponsored by Oceanic Consulting
Winner: Jelina Berlow-Rahman (JR Rahman Solicitors)

Finalists: Dr. Asid Khan (The Dental Studio) // Khalid Javid (K.A Javid & Co.) // Urfan Moughal (Jackson Moughal Chartered Accountants) // Ghulam Nabi (Ahmed & Nabi McMullen) // Jelina Berlow-Rahman (JR Rahman Solicitors).

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by Oceanic Media Consulting
Winner: Muhammed Tufail Shaheen MBE

Businesswoman of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland
Winner: Arti Poddar (Sterling Care Homes)

Finalists: Asha Bains (Kamasutra) // Naz Aksi (Ashoka Ashton Lane/The Italian Bistro) // Tahera Sharif (Baby Bond) // Arti Poddar (Sterling Care Homes) // Roma Pahuja (Nisha’s Enterprises).

Businessman of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland
Winner: Tarak Ramzan (Quiz Clothing)

Finalists: Ameen Mirza (AHY Group) // Tarak Ramzan (Quiz Clothing) // Khwaja Abkar Mir (Cameron Guest House Group) // Surinder Singh (Gold Bros) // Dil Srivastava (NCS).

Entrepreneur of the Year sponsored by Emirates
Winner: Sunita Poddar

Finalists: Sunita Poddar // Shaf Rasul.

Business of the Year sponsored by Bank of Scotland
Winner: Apollo Foods

Finalists: Apollo Foods // The Q Club // Premier Housewares // Perfect Glazing Scotland Ltd // Silicon Group.

Region: All
Start Date: 11/12/2013
End Date: 11/12/2013
Start Time: 18:30
Venue: Thistle Hotel
Venue Address: Cambridge Street
Press Tickets: Not Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
Press Tickets:
Phone: 08448793256