Finalists announced for Scottish Asian Business Awards

Finalists announced for Scottish Asian Business Awards

After receiving thousands of nominations from all over the country, the finalists for the Scottish Asian Business Awards presented by HSBC have been announced.

The Scottish Asian Business Awards presented by HSBC recognise the success and achievements of Scotland’s Asian business men and women. Having been held for the past five years, the event has become a highlight of the calendar. It is attended by the biggest names in Scottish business and politics. This year is no exception and among the guests will be the Deputy First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon. "The Scottish Asian Business Awards are a great opportunity to recognise the major contribution the Scottish Asian business community make to Scotland” said the Deputy First Minister. “Being shortlisted for these awards is a tremendous achievement and I look forward to meeting some of the finalists and winners on the night."

As well as recognising the achievements of Asian men and women at the forefront of their industries the event will be raising money for The British Asian Trust. Set up by the Prince of Wales, the charity serves as a ‘social fund’ to support high impact charities within the areas of education, enterprise and health in Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the UK.

The event will be held on the 23rd of November at the Thistle Hotel in Glasgow. Yasmin Mahmood, Business Development Manager at event organisers Oceanic Consulting, said “We would like to thank the public for the fantastic response we received. I would also like to congratulate all of the finalists. We have some truly inspiring individuals in all of our categories."

The finalists are:

Young Achiever of the Year
Ricky Singh
Kaashif Afzal & Salman Tahir
Omar Khan
Harpreet Rai
Asif Ali

Franchisee of the Year
Subway, Glasgow (Nabeed Ramzan)
Wok to Walk, Glasgow (Fahim Baqir &Amran Hakeem)
Kumon, Glasgow (Saima Afzal)
Subway Scotland (Haj & Narinder Atwal)
Baguette Express, Glasgow (Amjid Bashir)

Small Business of the Year
The Q Club
Bearsden Dry Cleaners
Khan Auto
Splash (Pollokshields)
Sash Time
The Community Award
Zahid Rafiq
The Well Foundation
Ravinder Nijjar
Habib Malik
The Gurdwara Berkley Street Committee

Businesswoman of the Year
Summon Ramzan
Arti Poddar
Nosheena Mobarik
Preet Sandhu
Poonam Gupta

Businessman of the Year
Asim Sarwar
Tony Hussain
Khalid Javid
Jas Aujla
Dr. Siraj Ahmed

Business of the Year
Fairline Coaches
Premier Housewares
Perfect Glazing
Entrepreneur of the Year
Luqman Javaid
Samrat Sarkar

Lifetime Achievement
To be announced on the night

For more information regarding the event contact campaign manager Yasmin Mahmood on 0141 420 1333 or email

For press information contact the public relations team on 0141 420 1333 or email

Region: All
Start Date: 23/11/2011
End Date:
Start Time: 19:00
Venue: The Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Venue Address: Cambridge Street , Glasgow
Celebs Attending: Nicola Sturgeon
Press Tickets: Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
Press Tickets:
Name: David Kehoe
Phone: 0141 420 1333