Finalists Announced for 2010 Scottish Asian Business Awards

Finalists Announced for 2010 Scottish Asian Business Awards

Finalist Shortlist

In less than a week, the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow will be crammed full of Scotland’s brightest and most successful Scottish Asian businessmen and women, honouring their successes in an evening of awards and entertainment. The Scottish Asian Business Awards, now in their 5th year running have consistently received the backing of Scotland’s First Minister Alex Salmond, who will once again be attending the awards on November 24th. The First Minister recently gave his support of the 2010 awards;

"I am delighted to once again give my support to the Scottish Asian Business Awards and pay tribute to the major contribution the Scottish Asian business community make to Scotland. The awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the wonderful achievements of Scottish – Asian business men and women who not only contribute economically to Scotland but also enrich our national diversity and culture. All the nominees should be proud of their achievements and I wish everyone the best of luck for the awards."

Yasmin Mahmood of Oceanic Consulting, event Organisers commented on the level of competition emerging in the run up to this year’s event;

“The current economic climate seems to have brought out the not only the survival instinct of entrepreneurs, but their competitive nature also. With nominations pouring in over the past couple of months, the 2010 awards are shaping up to be the fiercest competition yet.”

Oceanic Consulting are proud to announce this year’s finalists as follows;

Young Achiever of the Year finalists

Aishah Zaman – Aura Studio
Shafia Amdjadi – Think Book Keeper

Small Business of the Year finalists
Chaand Bazaar – Aisha Farooq
Strawberry & Spice Gardens – Imran Malik
Paradise of Flowers – Shanaz Adnan

Business of the Year finalists

Apple Pharmacy – Sanjay Majhu
NCS – Dil Srivastava
Nisha’s Enterprise – Supinder Puhuja

Franchisee of the Year finalists

Fahim Baqir & Amran Hakeem – Wok to Walk
Haj Atwal & Narinder Atwal – Subway
Traveen Panesar & Ravinder Panesar – Clive Easy Learn-Edinburgh Rock School

Community Award of the Year Finalists

Edinburgh Mela
Ucare Foundation
The Well Foundation

Businesswoman of the Year Finalists

Nosheena Mubarik – M Computer Technologies
Tahera Sharif – Baby Bonds Scotland
Tasmina Ahmed Shiekh – Hamilton Burns

Businessman (Business Brothers) of the Year finalists

Akmul Khushi & Afzal Khushi – Trespass
Haj Atwal & Narinder Atwal – Subway Scotland
Raju Tuli & Sunny Tuli – Tuli Holdings

Entrepreneur of the Year finalists

Dr. Rita Ahmad – Bath Street Dental
Monir Mohammed – Mother India

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner to be announced on the night

For more information regarding the event contact campaign manager Yasmin Mahmood on 0141 421 1333 or email

For press information contact the public relations team on 0141 421 1333 or email

Region: All
Start Date: 24/11/2010
End Date: 24/11/2010
Start Time: 18:30 to 23:00
Venue: Crowne Plaza Hotel
Venue Address: Congress Rd, Glasgow, Glasgow City
Celebs Attending: Alex Salmond
Press Tickets: Available
Sponsorship: Not Available
Press Tickets:
Name: Yasmin Mahmood
Phone: 01414201333